Generally, people who want to work as a contractor in South Dakota can obtain their General Contractor License at a local level. Contracting licenses are documents that ensure working with professionals. That is you won’t see someone not experienced simply strolling off the street and onto a large construction site.
Everyone who wants to work as a contractor and the cost of the project exceeds $2,000 must apply for a South Dakota Contractor License.
In general, there are four classes of contractor licensing based on the cost of the project:
In fact, the requirements for contractor licenses vary from state to state. So, whenever you want to apply for a contractor license, you must check the state requirements. South Dakota issues the contractor license mainly at a local level. That means you need to check what your jurisdiction requires.
Before you start your application process, have your proof of identity and Social Security Number ready.
You will also need to submit liability insurance to avoid personal losses and workers insurance if you have any workers.
In South Dakota, General Contractors don’t even need a state license. However, the specialty contractors need some other requirements.
The specialty contractors are mainly working in a particular field. For example, plumbing, lighting, painting, concrete pouring, heating, and cooling systems are what the specialty contractors do.
South Dakota doesn’t have reciprocity with any other state of the U.S.
Whenever you want to verify your contractor’s license you will need to visit the City of Sioux Falls.
The license fee in South Dakota varies depending on the class of license you apply for.
In some of the cities in South Dakota, you may be asked to pay an extra annual fee.
All the contractors in South Dakota must apply and renew their licenses every year not late than March 1. The renewal process is usually supervised by the Secretary of State.
Whenever your expiration date is coming, you must meet the following requirements to renew your license:
Fees to renew your license are different for each class.
To renew your Class A License you need to pay $90. Class B License renewal costs $60 and Class C License costs $45.
For a Class D license that is given to a project that costs no more than $120.000, you need to pay $30.
If you don’t renew your license till March 1, the state may require you to pay a penalty fee. Usually, it is from $80 up to $140 based on your license class.
Whenever you apply for a South Dakota Contractor License you must also provide the following documents if needed: